

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (SPECIAL)

MINUTES

12 MAY 2011

Chairman: * Councillor Jerry Miles

Councillors: Sue Anderson

> * Kam Chana Ann Gate

Barry Macleod-Cullinane

* Victoria Silver * Stephen Wright

Voting Co-opted: (Voluntary Aided)

(Parent Governors)

2 Vacancies

Paul Osborn

Sachin Shah

Mrs J Rammelt Reverend P Reece

Denotes Member present

RESOLVED ITEMS

138. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations.

139. **Appointment of Vice-Chairman**

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Paul Osborn as Vice-Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the 2011/12 Municipal Year.

140. Establishment of Sub-Committees for 2011/12

The Committee considered a report setting out the proposed memberships and Chairmen of the Sub-Committees for 2011/12 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, was admitted late to the agenda in order to enable the Sub-Committees to be established.

RESOLVED: That the Sub-Committees of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be established for the Municipal Year 2011/12 with the memberships and Chairmen as detailed in Appendix I to these minutes.

141. Appointment of Lead Members 2011/12

The Committee considered proposals relating to Lead Members for Scrutiny for 2011/12 which, in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, were admitted late to the agenda in order to enable Lead Members to be agreed.

RESOLVED: That the Scrutiny Lead Members be agreed, as detailed in Appendix II to these minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 7.47 pm, closed at 7.50 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR JERRY MILES Chairman

SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES - 2011/12

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Labour Conservative (1) PERFORMANCE AND FINANCE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2) I. Sue Anderson (CH) **Tony Ferrari Members Jerry Miles** Barry Macleod-Cullinane * Varsha Parmar Ш 1. Nana Asante 1. Chris Mote Reserve 2. Krishna Suresh 2. Susan Hall 3. Krishna James Members (2) HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE SCRUTINY SUB-COMMITTEE (5) (3) (2)Ann Gate (CH) Mrs Vina Mithani * I. **Members Jerry Miles Simon Williams** Sachin Shah II. 1. Ben Wealthy 1. Barry Macleod-Cullinane 2. David Gawn 2. Mrs Lurline Champagnie OBE Reserve Members 3. Krishna James CH = Chair = Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters

(3) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)

| | Labour | Conservative |
|---------------------------|---|--|
| | (3) | (2) |
| l. Members | Sue Anderson Jerry Miles (CH) Sachin Shah | Susan Hall Paul Osborn * |
| II. Reserve Members | Nana Asante Ann Gate Ajay Maru | Barry Macleod-Cullinane Tony Ferrari Kam Chana |
| | (4) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education) (9) | |
| | (7) | (2) |
| l. Members | Sue Anderson Nana Asante Ann Gate Ajay Maru Jerry Miles (CH) Sachin Shah Victoria Silver | Husain Akhtar Christine Bednell |
| II. Reserve Members | Zarina Khalid Raj Ray Krishna Suresh Ben Wealthy Krishna James Nizam Ismail Kairul Kareema Marikar | Chris Mote Janet Mote Lynda Seymour Ramji Chauhan Mrs Camilla Bath |
| | Voting Co-opted Members: (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Reece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors - Vacancy (Primary) / Vacancy (Secondary) | |
| CH * | = Chair= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters | |
| t | [Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06). | |

APPENDIX II

SCRUTINY LEAD MEMBERS 2011/12

| Policy Lead Member | Councillor |
|---|------------------------------|
| Health and Social Care | Councillor Ann Gate |
| Children and Young People | Councillor Christine Bednell |
| Corporate Effectiveness and Finance | Councillor Jerry Miles |
| Safer and Stronger Communities | Councillor Chris Mote |
| Sustainability Development and Enterprise | Councillor Stephen Wright |

| Performance Lead Member | Councillor |
|--|-----------------------------|
| Health and Social Care | Councillor Mrs Vina Mithani |
| Children and Young People | Councillor Krishna James |
| Corporate Effectiveness and Finance | Councillor Tony Ferrari |
| Safer and Stronger Communities | Councillor Nana Asante |
| Sustainable Development and Enterprise | Councillor Sue Anderson |